Happy Earth Day

April 22, 2010

Seems like often enough when we are searching our local drives for a particular image, we come across something totally unexpected. I came across this gem today…

Bozo the Produce Vendor

This photo was taken on April 22, 1999 with my SECOND digital camera: a Kodak DC260 with a whopping 1536×1024 (1.5mp) resolution. Despite its lack of all the features we now take for granted in a digital camera (WB for instance), it took decent pictures as witnessed by this mixed light interior. It was a fun camera and I came back with many excellent photos from this 1999 trip to the Pacific Northwest. I was so pleased with the camera and had so much fun with it that I began “selling” the digital photography concept to all of my clients. I was doing some commercial work with the camera (it had a pc jack so I could plug my studio flash in). F-stops had to be set via the menu, there was no dedicated external control. I sold that original camera to someone, but ended up buying back a DC260 from another friend because I like the pixel pattern when blown up big.

"I was having so much fun with a digital camera that I had the chutzpa to send some photos to Kodak with words of praise. They featured me and a selection of images on their website at the time which is still online in Taiwan here, check it out!"

Those were the days !!!

